Home > Other news > Sex storm rocks MIT

Sex storm rocks MIT

http://punemirror.in/index.aspx?page=article&sectid=62&contentid=2010072020100720005105198c2895e88&sectxslt=

‘Victim’ says faculty circulated objectionable pictures on campus, faculty says ‘nonsense’, admin says both at fault

 

By Chaitraly Deshmukh
Posted On Tuesday, July 20, 2010 at 12:51:05 AM
After receiving the student counsellor’s complaint, we
enquired into the matter. After the inquiry, we handed over Ghosh to the police. We have fired both Ghosh and the student counsellor. Ghosh alleges that she had an affair with a management student who accessed and misused certain data from her computer. She was terminated for that.

— Dr Mangesh Karad, executive director, MIT

He sent me obscene and romantic SMSes. On March 8, he showed my pictures with him taken during our Goa tour to some students and faculty members. And on the same day, he told me that I had been fired.

— The ‘victim’

I had no role in the institution’s decision of firing her. She is implicating me just to get her job back.

— Arindam Ghosh,
former lecturer and project head

The MIT College of Management is currently in the throes of a murky sexual harassment case.

A 22-year-old former student counsellor alleges that she was first sexually harassed by a lecturer and when she complained to the college authorities, she was fired. She also says that the police have not acted on her complaint.

A FIR is yet to be filed because the police claim that the victim has not given them evidence for her sexual harassment claim.

The alleged accused, one Arindam Ghosh, a lecturer and project head from the college, however, denies the charges. “I had no role in the institution’s decision of firing her. She is implicating me just to get her job back,” Ghosh said.

MIT’s Executive Director Dr Mangesh Karad said, “After receiving the student counsellor’s complaint, we enquired into the matter. After the inquiry, we handed over Ghosh to the police. We have fired both Ghosh and the student counsellor.

Ghosh alleges that she had an affair with a management student who accessed and misused certain data from her computer. She was terminated for that.”

Inspector in-charge of Kothrud PS, Chandrakanth Ghodke, said, “The victim has complained to us but we are not in a position yet to build a case. She is still in shock and has not given us evidence that she was sexually harassed. We enquired with Ghosh and he feigns innocence.”

Victim’s version
The complainant, however, insists she was harassed sexually. She told Mirror, “I know Ghosh since 2007 as he used to visit a gym where I worked as a receptionist at that time.

Ghosh first befriended me and began guiding me about career opportunities. Then I got a job with MIT and he claimed he had got me recruited.”

She added, “While Ghosh was my direct superior, he would often comment about my manners and dressing style, which I would ignore. He proposed marriage to me, but I turned him down as he was 10 years older than me. In February this year, he asked me to travel with him to Goa for an official tour.

But he kept me holed up in a hotel room for three days, which I had to share with him. He continued to make advances, but backed out when I pleaded him to leave me alone.”

She said, “After returning to Pune, he again went out on a tour, promising to talk to my parents about our marriage when he returns. However, when he returned on March 6, he refused to marry me.

Then he began sending me obscene and romantic sms. On March 8, he promised me a surprise gift and showed my pictures with him taken during our Goa tour to some students and faculty. He told them that we planned to marry soon. And on the same day, he informed me that I had been fired.”

Categories: Other news
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

